Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana - Housing for All (Urban)


The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana aims to provide cost effective housing solutions for the economically weaker sections of the society. The objective is to construct 2 crore houses across the country by 2022.


Affordable Housing for All.

Target Group

Those who belong to the economically weaker sections of society and low income groups.

Areas where homes will be constructed

Urban areas

The Mission will be implemented during 2015-2022 and will provide central assistance to Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) and other implementing agencies (DUDAs) through States/UTs for

  1. In-situ Rehabilitation of existing slum dwellers using land as a resource through private participation.
  2. Credit Linked Subsidy.
  3. Affordable Housing in Partnership.
  4. Subsidy for Beneficiary-led individual house construction/enhancement.

All statutory towns as per Census 2011 and towns notified subsequently would be eligible for coverage under the Mission.

In the spirit of cooperative federalism, mission provides flexibility to the States for choosing the best options amongst four verticals of mission to meet the demand of housing in their states. Process of project formulation and approval in accordance with the mission Guidelines has been left to the States so that projects can be formulated, approved and implemented faster. In Arunachal Pradesh, only two components out of the mentioned four components are being implemented i.e. Credit Link Subsidy Scheme and Subsidy for Beneficiary-Led Individual House Construction/Enhancement.

A Technology Sub-Mission under the Mission has been set up to facilitate adoption of modern, innovative and green technologies and building material for faster and quality construction of houses. Technology Sub-Mission also facilitates preparation and adoption of layout designs and building plans suitable for various geo-climatic zones. It will also assist States/Cities in deploying disaster resistant and environment friendly technologies.

Components that are being implemented in Arunachal Pradesh

  1. Beneficiary Led Individual House Construction or Enhancement (BLC)
  2. Under this component, a beneficiary can opt for new construction or enhancement of an existing house. Urban residents of Economically Weaker Section (annual income up to Rs.3 Lakhs) and LIG (annual income Rs. 3-6 Lakhs) are eligible. The beneficiary should not own a pucca house anywhere in India.

    Central Assistance of Rs. 1.5 Lakhs to EWS beneficiaries for construction of new houses or enhancement of existing house under the mission shall be provided.

    One BLC project is being implemented in Bomdila where in 56 nos of dwelling units are under construction. Rs. 42 lakhs has been received as 1st installment of central assistance.

  3. Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS)
  4. Credit linked subsidy component will be implemented as a Central Sector Scheme while other three components will be implemented as Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS). Beneficiaries of Economically Weaker Section (EWS) and Low Income Group (LIG) seeking housing loans from Banks, Housing Finance Companies and other such Institutions would be eligible for an interest subsidy at the rate of 6.5% for tenure of 20 years or during tenure of loan whichever is earlier.

    The CLSS will be available only for loan amounts up to Rs. 6 Lakhs and additional loans beyond Rs. 6 Lakhs, if any, will be at non-subsidized rate.

Detail Project Reports

Based on HFAPoA and availability of resources, each city will prepare Detailed Project Report (DPRs) under each component of the Mission except CLSS. All DPRs should be approved by State Level Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (SLAMC) and recommend to Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (CSMC) for release of Central assistance of Rs 1.50 Lakhs. For considering the release of first installment, CSMC may scrutinize the selected DPRs with the help of technical/other institutions.

Establishment of State Level Technical Cell and City Level Technical Cell

Provisions have been made in the HFA (Urban) guidelines to assist States and cities in enhancing their institutional capacity through the establishment of Technical Cells at State/UT and city levels. It is envisaged in the guidelines that these cells will support the States and cities in the implementation of the Mission activities.

  1. State Level Technical Cell (SLTC)
  2. A team of SLTC Experts comprising of 5 (five) specialists in the field of (i) Urban Planning (ii) Municipal Engineering (iii) MIS (iv) Social Development and (iv) IEC/Knowledge Management has been constituted as of March 2017. The recruitment of the five specialists in their respective fields was done through an interview basis and as of 27th March 2017 the team of SLTC has been operational and engaged in the implementation process of PMAY-HFA (U) in the state of Arunachal Pradesh.

  3. City Level Technical Cell (CLTC)
  4. A team of CLTC Experts comprising of 4 (four) Specialist in the field of Municipal Engineering, Town Planning, Social Development & MIS has been established in the state for implementation of PMAY-HFA (U). In total 37 nos of experts have been recruited and (Three) 3 nos of posts for Social Development experts are vacant and to be appointed. For the state of Arunachal Pradesh, based on the sizes of the towns cluster approach has been adopted hence, 10 (Ten) clusters with a CLTC for each cluster has already been constituted. Further, Four (4) nos of new urban towns i.e. Doimukh, Kimin, Raga and Pangin have been added to the existing list of urban towns and hence, the lists of Clusters are as follows:

    Cluster-1 (Tawang, Dirang, Bomdila & Seppa) 4 nos. of Urban Towns
    Cluster-2 (Itanagar, Naharlagun, Sagalee, Kimin & Doimukh) 5 nos. of Urban Towns
    Cluster-3 (Ziro, Daporijo,Raga & Dumporijo) 4 nos. of Urban Towns
    Cluster-4 (Koloriang & Palin) 2 nos. of Urban Towns
    Cluster-5 (Basar, Aalo, Pangin & Boleng) 4 nos. of Urban Towns
    Cluster-6 (Yingkiong, Mariyang & Pasighat) 3 nos. of Urban Towns
    Cluster-7 (Anini & Roing) 2 nos. of urban towns
    Cluster-8 (Tezu, Hawai & Namsai) 3 nos. of urban towns
    Cluster-9 (Miao, Changlang & Jairampur) 3 nos. of urban towns
    Cluster-10 (Khonsa, Deomali & Longding) 3 nos. of urban towns


Component Details
In Situ Slum Development (ISSR) [AR]
Beneficiary Led Construction (BLC) [AR]
Establishment of SLTC/CLTC [AR]
Social Audit [AR]
Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme for MIG [CLSS]
Affordable Housing in Partnership (AHP) [AR]
Preparation of HFAPoA [AR]
TPQM Charges [AR]
IEC Activities [AR]
Other Miscellaneous [AR]